Senior Presentation Evening

September 2014

On the Field, rain stopped play in the Clubs' End of Season Double Wicket Competition, but it didn't stop the 2014 Player of the Year Presentation Evening Celebrations off the field in the clubhouse. A good gathering witnessed the Club's Captains presenting the Player of the Year Awards, to end another fine season for the Club.

1st X1 - A tough season got better as the season progressed, with several highly promising young players finding their feet in the team during the season. The team achieved its m,ain aim which was to secure its position in the South Wales Premier League for 2015.

2nd X1 - A regrouping season after two successive Title Winning seasons. With several of the team's young players from 2013, progressing into the 1st X1 during the 2014 season a season of consolidation was required.

3rd X1 - The Club's 'Senior Team of the Year', led by Joe Thompson and his able deputy Rob Brown. The team of youngsters and experienced stalwarts, punched above their weight to claim the Runners Up spot in the Welsh Club Cricket Conference Division 3 and subsequently win promotion.

4th X1 - Another outstanding season for Haydn's Army as they anxiously await Committee decisions to see whether their campaign resulted in a third successive promotion.

Junior Teams - The Club's Junior Teams swept all before them, completing an amazing 'Clean Sweep' of success.
U11A - League & Cup Winners
U13A - League & Cup Winners
U15A - League & Cup Winners
U11B - League Winners
U13B - League Winners

Women & Girls
Senior Womens X1 - South West England Premier League Runners Up
U13 Girls - Lady Taverners U13 UK National Champions
U15 Girls - Lady Taverners U15 UK National Champions
U14 Girls - League Runners Up

Players of the Year 2014
1st X1 - Michael Clayden
Captain, Michael Clayden won the 1st X1 Player of the Year Award, scoring 642 League Runs at an average of 49.38. He 
scored one League century and four League fifties, with a top score of 118 against Pontarddulais. He finished as
3rd top run scorer in the SWPL and fifth in the SWPL Batting Averages. Despite limited bowling appearances he also
took 12 League wickets at an average of 18.5 per wicket.

Michael Clayden Receives the 2014 Player of the Year Award
from Coach Mike Knight

2nd X1 - Jordan Bachelor
The 2nd X1 Player of the Year Award was won by Jordan Bachelor. He scored 336 League Runs in just 8 innings, which include 3 fifties,
at an average of 48 with a top score of 99 against Pontarddulais.

Jordan Bachelor Receives the 2014 2nd X1 Player of the Year Award 
from 2nd X1 Captain Phil MacLean

3rd X1 - Haroon
The 3rd X1 Player of the Year Award was won by Haroon. An ever present in the 3rd X1 this season, batting and bowling
with distinction throughout the season. He was a great ally for Joe in helping with off field difficulties.

Haroon Receives the 2014 3rd X1 Player of the Year Award 
from 3rd X1 Captain Joe Thompson

4th X1 - Alex Davies
The 4th X1 Player of the Year Award was won by Alex Davies. Alex stood in for captain Haydn, several times during
the course of the season, always leading from the front. His commitment and organisational skills were prominent
throughout the season and he was an ever present in the 4th X1 this season. He batted and bowled
with distinction throughout the season.

Alex Davies Receives the 2014 4th X1 Player of the Year Award 
from 4th X1 Captain Haydn Davies

Young Player of the Year - Jeremy Lawlor
Jeremy Lawlor won the Young Player of the Year Award. He excelled in the 1st X1 with both bat and ball contributing 
many fine performances. He scored 388 League Runs at an average of 38.8 which included 4 fifties and a top score of
92 against Swansea. His off spin bowling claimed 8 League wickets which included several tight match winning
spells. He was rewarded with a Glamorgan CCC Development contract for 2015. Good luck Jeremy for your cricketing

Young Player of the Year - Jeremy Lawlor

Clubman of the Year - Ray Larcombe

Ray claimed back to back 'Clubman of the Year' trophy awards, having retained the trophy he first won in 2013.
Ray led the club's 'Operation De-fenceless' team, which constructed the new Picket Fencing around the ground
during the winter months. Ray was also instrumental in developing the 'Flower Power Shower', who transformed
the flower beds around the pavilion during the season. Both groups transforming the surroundings of the ground,
to make the ground into one of the best around.

Whether repairing, tidying, umpiring or a host of other odd jobs, Ray is undoubtedly the toast of Newport Cricket Club.

Ray Receives the 2014 Clubman of the Year Award
from Club Chairman Paul Morris.

Scorers Award - Joe Thompson
Mr Newport Cricket Club, Joe Thompson is Newport CC through and through. No job is too small .... or too big!! This
season was no exception, Captain of the 3rd team, he put the club first and his own personal glory a distant second
as he answered the call to step up and fill the 1st Teams' wicket keeping problems, time and time again. Never once
letting the team down, never once complaining, Joe stepped in to record many great performances ..... not to mention
In between 1st X1 call ups, he led the 3rd X1 to promotion, scoring invaluable runs in the process. Well done Joe a
fitting Award!

Joe Receives the 2014 Scorers Award
from Scorer Phil Stallard

And Finally ...... The Retiring Scorers Award

After countless runs, wickets and overs, Phil Stallard is standing down as 1st X1 scorer. Phil has scored for the 
club for many years, but the computer age is catching up on him fast! Phil still thinks a keyboard is part of a 
piano, a mouse runs along the floor ready to be trapped, not to mention apps and ipads. He'll download a couple
of pints after the game mind you!!

Phil will continue to be heavily involved in the Club in a variety of capacities, so don't worry you haven't seen the
last of him! Well done Phil, on behalf of everyone at the Club .... a big thank you!

I've a feeling there's still some lead in his pencil!!

Retiring Scorer, Phil Stallard Receives Thanks from 
from 1st X1 Captain Michael Clayden