Presentation Evening A Great Success

September 2017

On the Field, rain stopped play throughout the season, including the Clubs' End of Season 6-a-Side Day, but it didn't stop the 2017 Player of the Year Presentation Evening Celebrations in the clubhouse. An excellent gathering witnessed the Club's Captains presenting the Player of the Year Awards, to end another fine season for the Club.

1st X1 - On the eve of the new 2017 season, the addition of Glamorgan legend Mark Wallace to the team for 2017 was an unexpected welcome boost. As SWPL Champions the 1st X1 had a lot to live up to, but it was only the weather that spoilt another fantastic season. Having won more games than eventual winners Cardiff, and losing fewer games, and also beating Cardiff twice, it could be argued that it was only the fact that they had two more games cancelled than Cardiff that cost them the league title. A tough season for the team and in particular captain Matt Norris, ended on a high note winning the Macey Shield, for the first time since 2009. With several highly promising young players finding their feet in the team during the season, the future looks bright!

2nd X1 - A similar story to the 1st X1 whereby a rain ravaged season cost them the league title, again having beaten eventual winner TATA Steel twice. Several of the team's young players, had outstanding seasons with many having the opportunity to progress into the 1st X1 during the 2017 season a season. At the end of the season, Captain, Joe Thompson decided to retire as captain, a role he has taken on with energy and enthusiasm for many years. Thank you Joe for all your work over the years - he'll still be available for selection as a player though!

3rd X1 - The team of youngsters and experienced stalwarts, led by Alex Davies punched above their weight to finish well up Div. 4 in the South East Wales Cricket League.

4th X1 - A disappointing season on the field with so many games cancelled, not just by the weather, but by the inability of many sides to raise a team. Only seven games were played, but despite this Kevin Bailey must take great credit for all his hard work and a mid table league position.

Junior Teams - The Club's Junior Teams completed another fine season:-
U11A - League & Cup Winners
U13A - Welsh Cup & League Winners
U13B - League Winners
U15A - League Winners

Women & Girls
Senior Womens X1 - South West England Premier League Winners
U13 Girls - Lady Taverners U13 UK Regional Runners Up
U15 Girls - Lady Taverners U15 UK National Finalists (4th)

Players of the Year 2017
1st X1 - Callum Taylor
Young Newport born, Australian Callum Taylor won the 1st X1 Player of the Year Award, 
scoring 568 League Runs at an average of 73. He scored two League century and two
League fifties, with a top score of 118no against Port Talbot.
He finished as 3rd top run scorer in the SWPL and 3rd in the SWPL Batting Averages.
He also took 21 League wickets at an average of 20.9 per wicket. His fielding was
'World Class' claiming 10 league catches and 1 run out.

Callum Taylor Receives the 2017 Player of the Year Award 
from Captain Matt Norris


2nd X1 - Will Smale
The 2nd X1 Player of the Year Award was won by Will Smale. Always in the game,
the wicket keeper / batsman scored 632 League Runs, which include 6 fifties,
at an average of 48.62
He also claimed 18 league catches and 4 stumpings.

Will Smale Receives the 2017 2nd X1 Player of the Year Award
from 2nd X1 Captain Joe Thompson

3rd X1 - Talah Ubaid

The 3rd X1 Player of the Year Award was won by Talah Ubaid. An ever present in the 3rd X1 this season, batting and bowling with distinction throughout the season, whilst travelling back from his work commitments in Scotland to play every week.
He was a great ally for captain Alex Davies on and off the field. Talah scored 343 league runs at an average of 38.11 which included a magnificent top score of 131

Talah Ubaid the 2017 3rd X1 Player of the Year Award
from 3rd X1 Captain Alex Davies

3rd X1 Merit award - Nathan Berry
Nathan Berry Receives the 2017 3rd X1 Merit Award 
from 3rd X1 Captain Alex Davies


4th X1 - Aditya
The 4th X1 Player of the Year Award was won by Aditya. New to the club in 2017, Aditya proved to be the back bone of the 4th X1 
batting line up scoring many important runs. He was very reliable and proved to be a great clubman.

Aditya Receives the 2017 4th X1 Player of the Year Award
from 4th X1 Captain Kevin Bailey

4th X1 Merit Award - Lewis Probert

Lewis Receives the 2017 4th X1 Merit Award 
from 4th X1 Captain Kevin Bailey
Young Player of the Year - Joe Voke
Joe Voke won the Young Player of the Year Award. He flourished as an opener in the 1st X1 with both bat and ball contributing 
many fine performances. He scored 302 League Runs at an average of 22 which included 4 fifties and a top score of
52 against Bridgend. His medium paced bowling claimed 8 League wickets with an average of 22.
Joe starred for the Wales Minor Counties becoming the leading run scorer for the season.
One to watch for the future.

Joe Voke Receives the 2017 Young Player of the Year Award 
from Head Coach Mike Knight
Women's Player of the Year - Nicole Reid

Gabby Basketter Receives the 2017 Women's Player of the Year Award 
on Behalf of Nicole Reid,  from Head Coach Mike Knight

Scorers Award - Josh Aston
Having qualified as a doctor earlier in the year Josh became available for selection on a more regular basis as the
season progressed and showed his undoubted talent as an off spin bowler. He claimed 22 league wickets at an
average of just 12.18 runs finishing top of not just the Newport Bowling Averages, but also top of the SWPL Bowling
Averages. He claimed 16 wickets in the last four games of the season claiming:-
4-13 against Port Talbot, 3-29 against Penarth, 4-28 against Cardiff and finally 5-28 against Ynysygerwn.
A fantastic achievement.

Josh Receives the 2017 Scorers Award 
from Scorer Kevin Probert

Clubman of the Year Award - Adrian Myatt
What can I say! A breath of fresh air followed Adrian the minute he walked into the club. As a volunteer he has quickly established himself
as the Club's MVP (Most Valuable Player). The work that Adrian does is fantastic, if something needs cleaning, say no more - the Club has never
looked so good. If something needs doing he sorts out someone to do it!
An ever growing band of volunteers is becoming bigger and better, mainly due to Adrian's good nature and manner ..... he sorts out the tea
and biscuits as well!

Adrian Receives the 2017 Clubman of the Year Award 
from Club Chairman Mike Knight.


Merit Award - Ray Larcombe
Another fantastic volunteer, whether repairing, tidying, umpiring or a host of other odd jobs, Ray is undoubtedly 
the toast of Newport Cricket Club.

Ray Receives the 2017 Merit Award 
from Club Chairman Mike Knight.


Chairman's Merit Award - Mike Rutledge
Long serving clubman and committee member Mike Rutledge, deservedly won a special Chairman's Award for his 
sterling work in forming a Sponsorship Committee, who's aim was to raise £10 000 in order to fund an artificial cricket
wicket, to be primarily used bt the club's junior players.

Mike Rutledge Receives the 2017 Chairman's Merit Award 
from Club Chairman Mike Knight.
Chairman Mike Knight said, ' Mike showed great enthusiasm and commitment in not only forming the committee. but 
also to drive the project and to make sure we reached our target. A fantastic effort! Newport Cricket Club has a lot to
thank Mike for.'