Club Celebrates Fantastic Season at Annual Awards Evening

October 2018

An excellent gathering witnessed the Clubs' 2018 Player of the Year Presentation Evening with several celebrations being held in the clubhouse. The Captains presented the Player of the Year Awards, to end another fine season for the Club.

1st X1 - The 2017 season proved one of disappointment as bad weather scuppered the 1st X1 chances of retaining the SWPL title, but 2018 was one of incredibly good weather and there was no stopping the club from winning the SWPL Trophy for the second time in 3 years.  With several highly promising young players finding their feet in the team during the season, the future looks bright!

2nd X1 - A young 2nd X1 played well throughout the season to finsh the SWPL (Res. Div.) league programme as very credible Runners Up

3rd X1 - With promotion to fight for, for the first time, the 3rd team had an outstanding season. Not only winning promotion to Division 3 but also heading the table by 52 points. Unfortunately, fielding an ineligible player led to disciplinary issues which resulted in them having to settle for the Runners Up spot. Lessons have to be learnt for the 2019 campaign.

4th X1 - A highly successful season for the 4th X1 who finished in 4th place in the SEWCL Div. 8. Captain Kevin Bailey must take great credit for all his hard work in fielding a team throughout the season.

Junior Teams - The Club's Junior Teams completed another fine season:-
With the decision that there were to be no leagues for Junior cricket, it was Cup cricket that took centre stage
U13 - MBS Cup Winners beating Ebbw Vale in the Final

Women & Girls
U13 Girls - Lady Taverners U13 UK Regional Winners & National Finalists (3rd place)

Players of the Year 2018

1st X1 -  Mark Wallace & Callum Taylor
Mark Wallace and Callum Taylor shared the Newport CC Player of the Year Award with near identical statistics.
Wallace the ex Glamorgan wicket keeper batsman, scoring 523 runs at an average of 47.55. He scored one league
century against Ynysygerwn (101) and also claimed 22 victims (17 catches and 5 stumpings) throughout the season.
Wallace shared the award with young Newport born Australian, Callum Taylor. Taylor won the 1st X1 Player of the
Year Award for the second consecutive year, scoring 530 League Runs at an average of 58.89. He scored one
League century against Cardiff with a top score of 101. He also took 32 league wickets at an average of just 11.66.
Callum was also rewarded with a professional contract for 2019 with Glamorgan. Congratulations!

Mark Wallace & Callum Taylor Receive the 2018, Player of the Year Award, 
from Captain Matt Norris


2nd X1 - Zalmai Ahmadzai
The 2nd X1 Player of the Year Award was won by the popular Afghani Zalmai Ahmadzai. Always in the game,
the talented all rounder scored 458 2nd X1 League Runs, at an average of 65.43, with atop score of 150 v Bridgend
He also claimed 14 league wickets at an average of 10.36 with a season best of 5-36 against Port Talbot

Haroon on behalf of Zalmai Receives the 2018, 2nd X1 Player of the Year Award, 
from Phil MacLean

3rd X1 - Phil MacLean & Pravin DeSilva
The 3rd X1 Player of the Year Award was shared between Phil MacLean and Pravin DeSilva. 
Both players shared near identical records, batting and bowling with distinction throughout the season.
Phil scoring 390 runs at an average of 39, whilst taking 19 wickets at an average of 28.26.
Prav scored 410 runs at an average of 34.17, whilst taking 20 wickets at an average of 17.15

Phil MacLean and Pravin DeSilva Receive the 2018, 3rd X1 Player of the Year Awards, 
from 3rd X1 Captain Alex Davies

4th X1 - Waseem Raza
The 4th X1 Player of the Year Award was won by 'Waz'. He was very reliable and proved to be a 
great clubman.

Waz Receives the 2018, 4th X1 Player of the Year Award, 
from 4th X1 Captain Kevin Bailey
Young Player of the Year - Jack Wright
The Bill Jones Memorial Award for the Young Player of the Year’ is an important award for a club 
which has such a rich heritage of producing outstanding young players. 
The Award was presented to Jack Wright, a young player who nailed down a regular 1st team spot this year.
  • Initially, he had to fight for his place, but it made him more determined to keep it.
  • As the season progressed he established his place in the 1st team becoming a reliable bowler, bowling some 
    really good spells, and unluckily not always taking the wickets he deserved - surely the wickets will follow
    next season. It’s great to see a quick bowler emerging and hopefully, big things are to come in the future.

Jack Wright Receives the 2018 Young Player of the Year Award, 
from Head Coach Mike Knight
Women's Player of the Year - Gabby Basketter
Gabby led the Womens' team by example, on and off the field. She had many fine batting performances,
not just for the club, but also the Welsh Womens' team.
Western Storm next year?

Gabby Basketter Receives the 2018 Women's Player of the Year Award, 
from Robert Brown
Scorers Award - Michael Clayden
Many admirers and cricket followers, not to mention scorers and players, felt that Michael played the innings
that won us the SWPL away to Pontarddulais on August 4th. With just 4 games of the season remaining, it
was close at the top of the table and with a tough end to the season in store, and not a great record at
Pontarddulais, the game was a potential banana skin.
We needed 189 to win on a difficult wicket. If ever an old fashioned dogged innings was required, this was the day!
Wickets tumbled at regular intervals, and we were under the cosh for large periods of the innings but Michael kept
his nerve, accumalating valuable runs to edge us closer and closer to the target. His concentration levels were superb
and his shot selection impecable as he almost single-handidly blunted the Pontarddulais bowling attack, which included
young Glamorgan protigee Lukas Carey. Having won us the game, with a stunning innings of 76, he was unfortunately
run out with just 9 runs needed for victory. Eventually, winning by 4 wickets, Michael's innings will long be
remembered for it's fighting qualities and proved to be the catalyst for the team to go on and win the SWPL.

A fantastic innings and great achievement!
Well done Mike.

Michael Clayden Receives the 2018 Scorers Award 
from Scorer Kevin Probert

Clubman of the Year Award - Mike Wanklin
Mike's association with the Club started as a spectator, but he’s become a vital member of the off the 
field team – he helped out with the scoring of senior and junior matches, he helped to manage the 
Social Media side of the club. He helped with Bar B Q’s and Raffles and tried very hard to organise 
Social events.
He’s a very popular guy, we hope he’ll be back next year ……

Phil Stallard on behalf of Mike Wanklin, Receives the 2018 Clubman of the Year Award 
from Club Chairman Mike Knight.


Merit Award - Ray Larcombe
Another fantastic volunteer, whether repairing, tidying, umpiring or a host of other odd jobs, Ray works 
tirelessly for the Club. He is responsible for lots of the improvements made at the Club in recent years
– there’s nothing that he can’t do and again throughout the year he’s done countless jobs inside and around
the ground.

Ray Receives the 2018 Merit Award from Club Chairman Mike Knight.


Special Award - Vanessa Bailey

Vanessa has put in a tremendous amount of work for the club throughout the season. Whether preparing teas for the 4th team, collecting and collating memberships or doing B-B-Q's and raffles, Vanessa has been a real stalwart of the club.

Vanessa Receives a Special Award from husband Kevin.